Cats     |     Dogs     |     Horse Care     |     Horse Sports & Training   |     Small Pets

The Triple Tiara

or Filly Triple Crown

Help Rescue Homeless

Pets with a Gift

of One Dollar

The Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing, formerly known as the
Filly Triple Crown, is open to three year old fillies.

The three races that compose the series are:

The Mother Goose Stakes, run at Belmont Park
at a distance of 1 1/8 miles.

The Coaching Club American Oaks, also run at Belmont Park
at a distance of 1 1/2 miles.

The Alabama Stakes, run at Saratoga Race Course
at a distance of 1 1/4 miles.

The New York Racing Association, offers a $2,000,000
bonus to the owner of the filly that can win all three races.

Thus far, only four horses have won the Triple Tiara:

Shuvee (1969)
Mom's Command (1985)
Open Mind (1989)
Sky Beauty (1993)

Possible future of The Triple Tiara

In recent years, many owners of fillies have submitted proposals
to the National Thoroughbred Racing Association to change the
three races that compose the Triple Tiara.

The most popular proposal of races to compose the series are, The
Kentucky Oaks, run at Churchill Downs, The Black Eyed Susan
Stakes, run at Pimlico Race Course, and The Acorn Stakes, run at
Belmont Park.

These races are near equal distance to their Triple Crown
counterparts, and are thought to be a better choice for the
Triple Tiara series. Each race is also the night before their
Triple Crown counterpart.

Custom Search

Gift & Tack Shop for Horses


Site Map